Actions Over Ideas

Darnell Brown
1 min readJan 4, 2021
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

Great ideas are overrated. The discipline to take action on those great ideas is the true treasure.

Without intention and execution, ideas are meritless. If you sit on a good idea, not only does that not serve you, but the idea will find someone else more willing and able to birth it, which will fill you with resentment.

Personally, I’m no longer impressed by the grand ideas I hear about. My own ideas are rarely as good as the ones that come to me from my friends and colleagues. Because it isn’t really about how good an idea is. It’s about how that idea is nurtured and implemented over time.

That’s why I’m more intrigued by how timely actions can catapult the poorest of ideas. So let’s be mindful of how often we wait to hit ‘go’; we do better by our ideas when we embrace unreadiness by taking action, and then improving upon the feedback we get from our early adopters. Perfection, not required. But discipline absolutely is.

--

--

Darnell Brown

Certified Growth Strategist & Educator | Helping today’s leaders & experts save time and impact lives through clarity, empathy, and strategy.